Jump to content

New Power Pop Comp Featuring Raspberries


Recommended Posts

This one's just out in the UK; it's called "Burning Sounds" and it has some interesting song selections:

1. The Flamin' Groovies - Shake Some Action
2. Raspberries - Overnight Sensation (Hit Record)
3. Brinsley Schwarz - The Ugly Things
4. Klaatu - Sub-Rosa Subway
5. The Babys - If You've Got The Time (2000 Digital Remaster)
6. The Boyfriends - I'm In Love Today
7. The Records - Starry Eyes
8. The Rich Kids - Burning Sounds
9. The Knack - That's What The Little Girls Do
10. The Barracudas - His Last Summer
11. Dwight Twilley - Long Lonely Nights
12. The Pale Fountains - Jean's Not Happening
13. Let's Active - Fell
14. The Dukes Of Stratosphear - Vanishing Girl
15. Pursuit Of Happiness - Hard To Laugh
16. Jellyfish - Baby's Coming Back
17. Pete Wylie - Everything! (A Song For Dennis Wilson)
18. Orange - Judy Over The Rainbow
19. Daryll-Ann - Good Thing
20. The Rutles - Shangri-La

2007 compilation that chronologically spans almost 20 years of pure Power Pop, from The Flamin' Groovies' 1976 recording of 'Shake Some Action' through to 1996's 'Shangri-La' by The Rutles. Scouring the depths of EMI and Virgin's vast archives, it's a veritable treasure trove, with the majority of tracks swarming with great harmonies and not straying too far from the Power Pop blueprint. 20 tracks including songs from Raspberries, The Babys, The Records, Dwight Twilley, Jellyfish and many others.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...